He is the (Di)Vine; I am a branch.

Hello people!

I’m 3 days late! I thought WordPress was going to notify me when I was due to make a new monthly post…but I guess I was mistaken, oops. Well, a lot has happened in the past month to be honest. I think I will probably do multiple posts today. I’m also going to transfer one or two posts from my old blog onto here. Anyway, onto the main topics of this post.

Firstly, last weekend (14 -17 March) I went on a weekend conference with my church, to a really picturesque resort away in the lakes somewhere. It was so amazing, and the power and glory of God was so resonant y’all. I wish I could relay the whole experience but I’d run out of space! I played the guitar though, which I was quite nervous about but it went a lot better than I thought, thank God. We had guest preachers who delivered really powerful, true messages, but I’m ashamed to say I didn’t take any notes! I wouldn’t trade the weekend for anything though. You know that feeling after a spiritual experience that you just feel the glory of God around you, I had that 🙂 This conference is called ‘Hadassah,’ after Esther in the bible. It’s a yearly one, and I made a post on my old blog about last year’s experience which I will put on this blog.

The next thing I want to talk about is Joy. This past Sunday the preacher spoke to us about Joy, and by that I mean the abounding joy found in Christ. The complete, fulfilling joy. She said to us that being Christians should make us even more joyful than being in the world. I really took the whole message to heart, but then this morning I was walking into school, slowly getting aggravated trying to avoid the crowd of people coming from every direction, and I thought to myself: so much for being joyful… I’m just being real with you,little things like that can try to ruin your day, and I’m not saying you should ALWAYS have a smile on your face, but I think we should challenge ourselves to get past such things. I immediately told myself that I’m not going to let such a menial thing make me stressed out, and I moved past it. (Literally and metaphorically.)

Lastly, (my eyes are falling asleep guys…) there are a few verses in the bible that kept coming up last week, and I knew they had to be significant. It’s the title of this post. I’m honestly so tired right now but I really want to share this now so I’m going to be brief.

John 15: 4-5 & 9:

“Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. 9. As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. 10 If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love”

This part of the bible just kept coming up – at church, during night prayers at home, and I just kept taking it in. It is a reminder that without God, we really are nothing. You can apply it to every area of your life. Jesus is telling us that as long as we stay in Him, we will be fruitful (Amen!) We need to remain in His love and keep His commands. You see the thing is the bible is so straightforward. But sometimes we twist the message around to suit our needs (I think this is mentioned in Romans 1?) These verses were a strong wake-up call to me because I know I have not been as dedicated to studying the Word as I should be. If we don’t have the Word, how are we going to defend ourselves when the enemy attacks? (but I’m getting ahead of myself, that is a topic for another time 🙂

Well, I really need to end this. Like promised, I will quickly upload some posts from my old blog. I hope you were in some way blessed by this. I think after every post I will end with some favourite song choices of mine. For this month it will be:

  1. We’re Amazed – Dr R A Vernon and THE WORD Church Praise team
  2. You Covered Me – Dr R A Vernon and THE WORD Church Praise team (yes I’m really loving these guys’ songs!!)
  3. Silence – Anthony Evans

Stay blessed; Reni. 

P.S. If there is anything you’d like me to include or improve on my blog please let meknow, I’m still kind of a newbie at this.

Leave a Reply

